Short Films

The short films will be presented before the feature films.

Next Stop

Recipient of  the JERUSALEM FOUNDATION FILM PRIZE
Einat Gaulan
V.O. Hebrew, English or French S.T.

Ruth’s voice is the announcement’s voice on the bus, everyone hears her- but no one listens. Following her psychiatrist’s advice, she tries to bond with the people around her- with no success. But life has mysterious ways to make her, for a brief moment, into a local star.


 

Parallels

Recipient of the JERUSALEM FOUNDATION FILM PRIZE
Boris Haimov
V.O. Hebrew, English or French S.T.

At the centre of Jerusalem a spaceship lands and from the inside of the spaceship sounds are coming out. The voices are talking between themselves about what they see, revealing to us a new external critical perspective on the local society. The spaceship is the Filmmaker’s way to watch the world as an alien.
A personal text, that moves between past and present.


 

Across the Line

Nadav Shlomo Giladi
29 min, V.O. Hebrew, English or French S.T.

Hananel, a young religious Jew, rushes home for Shabbat. An unexpected meeting with Mundir, a stubborn Palestinian hitchhiker leads Hananel to a serie of confusions that gives him a lesson in communication, friendship and love.


 

Leftovers

Yael Zafrir
19 min, V.O. Hebrew, English or French S.T.

A devoted elderly woman takes care of her paralyzed husband, maintaining a normal life for them. A random meeting with a French tourist makes her rethink what she needs.


 

Girl at Risk

Raaya Vardi Teboulle
21 min, V.O. Hebrew, English or French S.T.

As an Orthodox Jewish girl, Shira who is 19 years old is excused of compulsory combat duty in the army and is instead doing a year’s National Service in a high school. Frustrated at the minor tasks she is given, Shira seeks greater involvement with the students and sets herself up as mentor to a troubled fourteen years old facing a serious crisis.  But things get out of hand and ends in disaster and painful disillusion.


 

Homemade

Shira Meishar
12 min, V.O. Hebrew, English or French S.T.

Just as Helena is about to end another day in the restaurant where she works and return home to celebrate her fiftieth birthday with her husband, a stranger enters and orders a meal… Something about him rekindles Helena’s desire for human warmth and connection. Soon enough the two of them are joined by a neglected little boy whom Helena saves from a street fight outside the restaurant. In this way a fragile fantasy family is built for three people whose alternative lives whisper inside them.


 

Miriam

Shulamit Lifschitz
6 min, V.O. Hebrew, English or French S.T.

Miriam’s father is determined to secure her future happiness… the Israeli way.


 

Barren

Esty Shushan
16 min, V.O. Hebrew, English or French S.T.

Naomi, a married Orthodox Jewish woman, is young, immature, and has already raised children earlier in life as an older sister in a large Orthodox family. But 22 years old, Naomi is obligated to the social norm, quietly, secretly, she shares her pain and insights with the world. Her relatives know nothing of her thoughts and her controversial decisions. Her husband worries, her mother anxiously offers various birthing segulot (charms). Do the personal wishes of a young woman stand a chance against a rigidly conservative social structure? Will Naomi’s marriage survive the test?


 

Rachel

Jordan Boutboul
19 min, V.O. Hebrew, English or French S.T.

Rachel, a 55-year-old woman, denies the loss of her son who was killed in the war. The mourning affects the whole family, creating an atmosphere of tension and frustration. Rachel finds a memory left by her son before his death.


 

A Perfect Day for Banana Leaves

Yavin Rubinstein
29 min, V.O. Hebrew, English or French S.T.

Bananas are grown in the north of Israel, destined for Gaza Strip. They make their journey South through the Israeli landscape and cross the Wall to reach the Palestinian neighbours. How do the merchants on two sides manage to work together? Who profits and who loses in this cooperation and what the bananas must go through before they reach their destination?

Comments are closed

Courts-métrages

Ces courts-métrages sont présentés en introduction du film principal.

Next Stop

Gagnant du PRIX DE LA FONDATION DE JÉRUSALEM
Einat Gaulan
V.O. Hébreu, S.T. Anglais ou Français

La voix de Ruth est la voix de l’annonce dans le bus, tout le monde l’entend – mais personne n’écoute. Suivant les conseils de son psychiatre, elle essaie de tisser des liens avec les gens autour d’elle, sans succès. Mais la vie a des moyens mystérieux de faire d’elle, pour un bref instant, une star locale.


 

Parallels

Gagnant du PRIX DE LA FONDATION DE JÉRUSALEM
Boris Haimov
V.O. Hébreu, S.T. Anglais ou Français

Au centre de Jérusalem, un vaisseau spatial atterrit et de l’intérieur du vaisseau spatial sortent des sons. Les voix se parlent entre elles de ce qu’elles voient, nous dévoilant une nouvelle perspective critique externe sur la société locale. Le vaisseau spatial est la manière du cinéaste de regarder le monde en tant qu’étranger.
Un texte personnel, qui bouge entre le passé et le présent.


 

Across the Line

Nadav Shlomo Giladi
29 min, V.O. Hébreu, S.T. Anglais ou Français

Hananel, un jeune juif religieux, se dépêche de rentrer à la maison pour Shabbat. Une rencontre inattendue avec Mundir, un auto-stoppeur palestinien obstiné, conduit Hananel à une série de confusions qui finalement lui donne une leçon de communication, d’amitié et d’amour.


 

Leftovers

Yael Zafrir
19 min, V.O. Hébreu, S.T. Anglais ou Français

Une femme dévouée prend soin de son mari paralysé en maintenant une vie normale. Une rencontre par hasard avec un touriste français lui fait repenser à ce dont elle a besoin.


 

Girl at Risk

Raaya Vardi Teboulle
21 min, V.O. Hébreu, S.T. Anglais ou Français

En tant que fille juive orthodoxe, Shira, âgée de 19 ans, est dispensée du devoir de combat obligatoire dans l’armée et fait au lieu de cela un an de service national dans une école secondaire. Frustrée par les tâches mineures qui lui sont confiées, Shira cherche à s’impliquer davantage auprès des élèves et s’érige en mentor auprès d’une adolescente de quatorze ans confrontée à une crise grave. Mais les choses deviennent incontrôlables et se terminent par un désastre et une douloureuse désillusion.


 

Homemade

Shira Meishar
12 min, V.O. Hébreu, S.T. Anglais ou Français

Alors qu’Hélène est sur le point de terminer sa journée dans le restaurant où elle travaille et de rentrer chez elle pour fêter son cinquantième anniversaire avec son mari, un étranger entre et commande un repas … Quelque chose en lui ranime le désir de chaleur humaine que ressent Helena. Bientôt, ils sont rejoints par un petit garçon négligé que Helena sauve d’une dispute dans la rue devant le restaurant. Ainsi, une famille fantasmatique fragile est construite pour ces trois personnes.


 

Miriam

Shulamit Lifschitz
6 min, V.O. Hébreu, S.T. Anglais ou Français

Le père de Miriam est déterminé à assurer son futur bonheur … à la manière israélienne.


 

Barren

Esty Shushan
16 min, V.O. Hébreu, S.T. Anglais ou Français

Naomi, une femme juive orthodoxe mariée, est jeune, immature, et a déjà élevé des enfants plus tôt dans sa vie en tant que sœur aînée d’une grande famille orthodoxe. Mais Naomi, 22 ans, est obligée de respecter la norme sociale, silencieusement, secrètement, elle partage sa douleur et ses idées avec le monde. Ses proches ne connaissent rien de ses pensées et de ses décisions controversées. Son mari s’inquiète, sa mère offre anxieusement divers segulots de grossesse.
Les souhaits personnels d’une jeune femme ont-ils une chance dans une structure sociale rigidement conservatrice? Le mariage de Naomi survivra-t-il au test?


 

Rachel

Jordan Boutboul
19 min, V.O. Hébreu, S.T. Anglais ou Français

Rachel, une femme de 55 ans, nie la perte de son fils qui a été tué pendant la guerre. Le deuil affecte toute la famille, créant une atmosphère de tension et de frustration. Rachel trouve un souvenir que son fils a laissé avant sa mort.


 

A Perfect Day for Banana Leaves

Yavin Rubinstein
29 min, V.O. Hébreu, S.T. Anglais ou Français

Les bananes sont cultivées dans le nord d’Israël et sont destinées à la bande de Gaza. Elles font leur voyage vers le sud d’Israël et traversent le Mur pour atteindre les voisins palestiniens. Comment les marchands des deux côtés réussissent à travailler ensemble? Qui profite et qui perd dans cette coopération et comment les bananes arrivent à leur destination?

Les commentaires sont fermés